I Notice

A heaviness inside I wish I could stop focusing on

I notice

A blast of heavenly redwood and faded embers deep in my nose
Skin tingling
One sweet memory of childhood

I notice

A trail filled with fallen leaves
Faded sunset
Still alive under my feet

I notice

Deep breathing as I keep pushing-
Pushing through the slight dryness of my tongue
A chorus of feathered singers chime along
To my heartbeat

I notice

A delicate touch of a small fern
Its vulnerability clear to me
A tiny voice reminding me to trust

I notice

Broken-
sticks, leaves, and fallen trees
I release what no longer serves me

I notice

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kabirgandhiok
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 19:15:30

    Beautifully done! Enjoyed reading it :)

    Reply

  2. heartflow2013
    Aug 24, 2013 @ 18:26:26

    This is so delicate and poignant! Thank you, Mary! Beautiful ~ tomas ☼

    Reply

  3. confusedpoet
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 16:00:17

    Oh how I love this. Beautiful work.. beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

